Recognizing the Aesthetic and Intellectual Impact of Womxn on the Visual Arts and Culture

 Welcome to the new
The Feminist Art Project (TFAP)

The Feminist Art Project  WCA Caucus 
We are proud to announce our new partnership with the Women’s Caucus for Art (WCA).
TFAP is now a Caucus of WCA. Join WCA and become a TFAP Caucus Member today!


News & Calendar Highlights

TFAP Calendar/Archive The NEW Feminist Art Project Calendar and Archive is a searchable, virtual repository of contemporary feminist art activities across varying media – from all over the world – Free posting starts soon! Check back!

Links to TFAP International Regional Groups The Feminist Art Project facilitates networking and program development worldwide. TFAP Regional Coordinators and Groups work with artists, teachers, writers, curators and venues to develop and promote feminist art events.

TFAP@CAA The Feminist Art Project is a CAA Affiliated Society and has a major presence at the annual conference.

FARE (Feminist Art Resources in Education) is a portal to unique educational resources that utilize feminist art practice, theory, and history to enrich learning and empower students, youth, and adults to use critical thinking and build self-esteem.



The Feminist Art Project is an international collaborative initiative recognizing the Feminist Art Movement and the aesthetic, intellectual and political impact of womxn on the visual arts, art history and art practice, past and present. The project is a strategic intervention against the ongoing erasure of womxn from the cultural record. The Feminist Art Project promotes diverse feminist art events and publications through its website calendar archive and facilitates networking and regional program development worldwide.

National Committee

Anonda Bell | Artist, Director/Curator Paul Robeson Galleries, Rutgers University
Judith K. Brodsky | Artist, Co-founding Director, Institute for Women & Art*
Judy Chicago | Artist*
Kat Griefen | Co-owner/Director Accola Griefen Gallery
Leslie King-Hammond | Maryland Institute College of Art*
Catherine Morris | Curator, Sackler Center for Feminist Art, Brooklyn Museum
Dena Muller
Ferris Olin | Co-founding Director, Institute for Women & Art*
Arlene Raven (1944-2006)*
Maura Reilly
| Director, Zimmerli Art Museum, Rutgers University*
Susan Fisher Sterling | Director, National Museum of Women and the Arts*
Anne Swartz | Professor, Savannah College of Art and Design*
Connie Tell | National Committee Chair; Program Director (2007-2019), Arts Programming Specialist/Curator

TFAP’s policies and initiatives are overseen by its National Committee. It was formed to expand participation and to provide continuity and a framework for general governance. * Founding Member

Honorary Committee

Norma Broude | Professor Emerita, American University
E. John Bullard | Director Emeritus, New Orelans Museum of Art
Connie Butler | Robert Lehman Foundation Chief Curator of Drawings, MOMA-NY
Mary D. Garrard | Professor Emerita of Art History, American University
Chrissie Iles | Anne & Joel Ehrenkranz Curator, Whitney Museum of American Art
Arnold Lehman | Director Emeritus, Brooklyn Museum
Lucy R. Lippard | Writer and Activist
Margo Machida | Art Historian, University of Connecticut
Cindy Nemser (1937-2021)
Linda Nochlin (1931-2017)
Faith Ringgold | Artist, Professor Emerita, University of California at San Diego
Lowery Stokes Sims | Curator Emerita, Museum of Art and Design
Gloria Steinem | Writer, Activist, Organizer, Co-founder Ms. Magazine

Founding Program Partners

A.I.R. Gallery
Brodsky Center
College Art Association

Elizabeth Sackler Center for Feminist Art, Brooklyn Museum
Institute for Women and Art
(now Center for Women in the Arts and Humanities)
Maryland Institute College of Art
National Museum of Women in the Arts
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Through the Flower
Women’s Caucus for Art

Financial support was provided by Ferris Olin, Judith K. Brodsky, the Maria and Henry Leon Memorial Fund, the New Jersey State Council on the Arts, and the Office of Academic Affairs, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.